Sunday, 8 May 2016

World War Z


It began with rumours from China about another pandemic. Then the cases started to multiply and what had looked like the stirrings of a criminal underclass, even the beginnings of a revolution, soon revealed itself to be much, much worse. Faced with a future of mindless, man-eating horror, humanity was forced to accept the logic of world government and face events that tested our sanity and our sense of reality.

Based on the extensive interviews with survivors and key players in the 10-year fight-back against the horde, World War Z brings the very finest traditions of American journalism to bear on what is surely the most incredibly story in the history of civilisation.

My Review:

This book completely took me by surprise.
As any of my regular readers or anyone that knows me will know, this is definitely not my regular genre of book. It's like nothing I have ever read before, not only in the incredibly creative and irregular way that it is written, but also in the way that it completely mesmerised me, in a way that no book in this genre or this style ever has.

So basically, for anyone whom hasn't heard about this book or seen the movie starring Brad Pitt, and seriously if you haven't - get on it. If you like zombie movies, action movies, a bit of medical backstory and of course, looking at Brad Pitt for 2 hours (I mean, who wouldn't love that), then it's totally a movie you need to get onto. After you've read the book of course.
But as I was saying, for anyone that knows nothing about the storyline, basically this zombie infection arises in the world which in turn creates an apocalyptic environment with the world's militaries trying to fight off this zombie invasion and take back the world that is theirs.

I know it sounds cliche and just like every other zombie book/movie that you've ever seen or read. Which is exactly what I thought too. I mean, I'd seen the movie and I loved it, but I never really had any interest in reading the book.
That is, until I found it at my boyfriends house and he started ranting about how great it was.
So I decided to check it out, and completely fell in love with it.

Now, it is written in first person (which is my usual preference) but not in the way that you might think. The book, whilst following the storyline of the war in relative chronology, doesn't actually have any sort of protagonist.
Not only that, it doesn't have any main or central characters at all.
It's written in the form of a report, of many interviews all compiled together of different survivors of World War Z as they all tell their story to our, I guess you could call him a narrator. The interviewer.

Whilst this was really intriguing to me and I honestly respect the author Max Brooks so much for being able to pull this off in the way that he does, while still creating perfectly easy to follow prose and a definitive timeline. It did draw out my reading of the book quite substantially, as I felt the need after every small interview section, to sit and digest what I had just read before moving on to the next, a different story, in a different location with a different character.

It did take a lot out of me reading the book because of this, it was quite exhausting to concentrate on at times, almost like an information overload. But, saying this, each story and interview was so thrilling and so suspenseful, that as soon as I did start reading a section, it was near impossible to put the book down.

Overall, I give this book 8.5/10 stars.

Saturday, 6 February 2016

Eleanor and Park - Rainbow Rowell. SPOILERS


Eleanor is the new girl in town, and with her chaotic family life, her mismatched clothes and unruly red hair, she couldn't stick out more if she tried.

Park is the boy at the back of the bus. Black t-shirts, headphones, head in a book - he thinks he's made himself invisible. But not to Eleanor... never to Eleanor.

Slowly, steadily, through late-night conversations and an ever-growing stack of mix tapes, Eleanor and Park fall for each other. They fall in love the way you do the first time, when you're young, and you feel as if you have nothing and everything to lose.

My Review:

Okay so I will start by saying that I didn't really like this book. I mean, I definitely enjoyed bits of it, parts of it I absolutely loved, but overall, it left me really unsatisfied.

So as some of you may have noticed, this is the first review that I've ever done that's included spoilers. This is because I absolutely hated the ending of this book and I really wanted to talk about it in this post, to explain why my perception of this book isn't great.

Okay, so as I said, there are a few things that I really enjoyed in this book and so I want to talk about them first.

So, as the blurb kind of gives away, this is a love story.
One thing I truly loved about it is that the love aspect is quite realistic when compared to other teen love stories. Eleanor and Park aren't really the typical people in a love story, Eleanor is described to be quite overweight, her entire wardrobe consisting of hand-me-down clothes and ratty, old secondhand clothes.
Park on the other hand is described many times as a non-attractive, in his eyes anyway, thin, Asian boy.
Their first meeting was also not the usual, cute, 'eyes meet across a crowded room' cliche and neither of them are particularly drawn to each other when they first meet on the bus.

This for me was a real breeze of fresh air from other romance books that I've read in the past, it's real, it's raw and I absolutely loved it.

Something else that I really loved within this book is how intelligent parts of it were.
There was so much subtlety throughout the entire story, things such as the irony of Eleanor's bus being number 666, and Eleanor's interpretation of Romeo and Juliet towards the middle of the book in English class, as well as the part at the beginning where her English teacher is talking about poetry. It was really beautiful to me to put this literary intelligence through the love story to focus on something else for a little bit.
This was good with all of the issues within the book, whilst as much as Eleanor and Park's romance was a large part of the book, as with real life, it wasn't the only issue explored. There are things that love is not enough to concur and I love that this is seen throughout.

Going back to what I was saying about intelligence, speaking of Eleanor and Park's relationship, I love the conversations that they have. Most of them being intelligent conversations, analysing music and comics and just talking about life in general.
It shows just how strong a connection the two of them did have and I loved that Rowell highlighted this throughout the book, it made their love story just that much better and again, more realistic.

Okay, as much as I loved all of that stuff within this novel, the ending ruined the entire book for me.

So for those of you who haven't read it, basically Eleanor's family problems become quite massive and she decides to leave town and go and stay with her uncle. Park drives her there to help her and then he comes back.

The thing that annoys me, is that there is all of this talk about how they will write to each other and call on the phone and stuff and Eleanor just sort of blows it all off. And the book ends with Park coming home and not hearing anything from Eleanor for a year, and in the very last paragraph he gets a postcard from her with three words. Three words which are never revealed...

I mean, okay I understand what the author was trying to do here, explain how easily things just end and sometimes you have to let someone go and all of that.
But, their relationship was emphasised so much throughout the book and the reader got to a point as they overcame all of their problems and Eleanor finally opened up to Park and told him about her family problems that the reader was really rooting for them.
How Park was the only person that really understood Eleanor and loved her.
To have it all end just because they lived in different states, personally, really annoyed me.

I'm not going to rant about it too much but I just think that not only was distance one of the least intense things that they had to deal with together, and the fact that it was just all over with no explanation, the two of them didn't even have a conversation about it was just a huge anticlimax.

Overall I give Eleanor and Park 1.5 stars out of 5. 

Favourite Quotes: 

"They agreed about everything important and argued about everything else"
- Narrator. Page 64.

"Park had the sort of face you painted because you didn't want history to forget it"
- Eleanor. Page 135

"Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn't supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something"
- Park. Page 169

"I just can't believe that life would give us to each other and then take it back."
"Life's a bastard"
- Park and Eleanor. Page 306

"I'm not ready for you to stop being my problem"
- Park. Page 309

Thanks for reading guys - let me know what you thought of the ending if you've read it or what you thought of my interpretation.
Read fast, die young!

Wednesday, 27 January 2016

Humans of New York - Review

Hey everyone

Okay so I haven't posted a review in a while because I've been overseas.
I'm not going to talk about that because this is not what this blog is for - for anyone that is interested in knowing about my trip, I will put a link at the bottom of this to my personal blog post about my top 4 Europe experiences so you guys can check it out.

Anyway, review time.
This book is not really my normal style of book to review, but I read it and I just fell in love with it and couldn't bear not to share it with you.
So basically it's a book of photos by a photographer named Brandon Stanton, who started a blog called Humans of New York (link is below).


Since 2010, photographer Brandon Stanton has been capturing New Yorkers and their remarkable stories. The blog he created has touched millions of lives around the world.
Humans of New York is a surprising and moving collection of four hundred of his most beautiful photos, featuring exclusive new portraits and stories.

My Review:

Okay so this is a new one for me, so it's been a bit hard putting my thoughts into words as I'm not used to reviewing and analysing stuff like this.

I will say that I have followed a little bit of the Humans of New York blog before so before picking up this book I was used to Stanton's photography style and I loved it.
But this book was just something else.

It's amazing to me how much emotion and strength can be shown and evoked by just a simple photograph.
And that is how I would describe this book, emotion, strength, love, pain. Just life.

Looking through this collection of photos just inspired me and really made me realise just how strong and incredible the human race truly is.
It's strange, these photos really emphasise the diversity of the human race, but it's one of the few things that I've seen in the last few years that just shows the beauty in this. There is no judgement, no negativity, just beauty. The beauty of the world and of our differences.
It's truly inspiring.

Something else that I really love about this book as well is the captions for the photos, the majority of them have captions and they vary from quotes from the people in the photos, Brandon's story of what happened or how he managed to get the photos, or even just where they were taken.
It's through these that stories are told that otherwise never would be, amazing and incredible stories that, in my opinion, the entire world needs to hear. That's the beauty of this book, to explore and learn about life, about people's lives and the beauty that is hiding in them.

I could not recommend checking this book, or Brandon's blog out enough.
It's just breathtaking and it really will change your perspective on the world!

So usually as my readers will know, I do a favourite quotes section.
Obviously that's kinda hard with this, so I'm just going to share my favourite photo.
This one I did see on Brandon's blog quite a few months ago and have been in love with for a while now, I was so happy to see that it got included in here!

Caption: Seen in Times Square

Thanks for reading guys, I know this is a bit of a change from my normal stuff, and I am currently reading Eleanor and Park, so my next review of that will be back to my normal style, but I'd love to hear what you guys thought of this post and also, if any of you do go and check out Brandon's blog, what your perspective on it all is.

Read fast, die young


Brandon's blog:

My Europe Adventures Personal Blog Post:
Personal Blog:
My Instagram:
My Twitter:

Friday, 1 January 2016

The Last Time We Say Goodbye - Cynthia Hand


The last time Lex was happy was before.
When she had a family that was whole.
A boyfriend she loved.
Friends who didn't look at her like she break down at any moment.

Now she's the girl whose brother killed himself.
And it feels like that's all she'll ever be.
As Lex starts to put her life back together, she tries to block out what happened the night Tyler died. But there's a secret he hasn't told anyone - a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.
Lex's brother is gone. But Lex is about to discover that the past doesn't have to define the present.

From New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand comes a story of love, loss and learning how to let go.

My Review:

I have honestly been quite nervous about writing this review.
I finished the book last night quite late and it made me sob and cry probably more than any other book or movie ever has in my life.
I just walked around my house for like a half hour trying to come to terms with it, it was so emotional and beautiful and just incredible. For words on a page to make me feel like that, I will never be able to handle how amazing that is.

Okay, so I guess I'll start at the beginning.

I absolutely fell in love with the main character, Lexie, from the first few pages.
Mainly because she was talking about how much she loved an idol of mine, John Nash. For anyone that doesn't know, John Nash was an incredible mathematician who also lived his life with paranoid schizophrenia.
Anyway, this started an incredible mathematical and scientific theme that ran pretty strongly all throughout the book, which I loved.

This book, was quite intelligent, but not in a pompous or arrogant way. It was quite subtly intelligent, for example they have a conversation in the middle of the book about etymology (which is the study of the origin of words) that has quite a strong correlation with what Lexie is experiencing through her choice of words to study.
This is also shown through the choice of words that her best friends also choose.

Another example of this is the sciencey love stuff in the flashbacks to Lex and Stevens' (her ex-boyfriend) relationship.
I don't want to give too much away so I won't say exactly what this entails, but to any science nerd like me, it'll melt your heart.
I'll just put this one quote in here so you guys can see:
"'You look like Euler's equation,' he murmured as he looked me up and down. Nerd translation: Eurler's equation is said to be the most perfect formula ever written. Simple but elegant. Beautiful."

One thing I did love so much was how Lexie grew throughout the book.
Not only how she learnt a bit more to come to terms with the bad things that she couldn't control in her life, but also just learning to accept the way she feels.
I found this really refreshing and I'm so happy that the book ended in such a way that you could really be proud of her, like I almost feel motherly pride when I think about all of the things she had to dealt with and how she did. With her Dad, and Ty (her brother) and Steven. It was inspirational.
That's how connected to the main character the author made me feel, which I thought was just incredible.

Also, I want to emphasise how much I loved, from a psychological point of view, that whilst Lex definitely accepted and let go of the things in her life that hurt her, she didn't forgive everyone.
She just had the power to be able to let that hurt out of her life.
As her psychologist says on page 319:
"Forgiveness is tricky, Alexis, because in the end it's more about you than it is about the person who's being forgiven".

I give The Last Time We Say Goodbye 5/5 stars.

Favourite Quotes:

"It smelled like books, a heady mix of paper and ink and glue, a sweet knowledge"
- Narrator, page 57

"I like that it's derived from a verb. Brave isn't something you are. It's something you do. It comes from action. I appreciate that"
- El, page 70

"The numbers make sense of things. They make order of a disordered world"
- Narrator, page 182

"How can there be such a thing as insanity in a world that's already gone insane?"
- Damian, page 281

"holding a grudge is like drinking poison and then waiting for the other person to die."
- Alexis, page 319

Thanks so much for reading guys!
I just wanted to say that I'm not exactly sure when my next book review will be up as on Wednesday I am going to Europe for 3 weeks.
But I will do my best to have it up for you guys as soon as I can, but it probably won't be until after I get back.

Read fast, die young


My instagram:
My twitter:

Tuesday, 22 December 2015

My Mini Book Haul!

Hey guys,

Okay so after I finished Girl Online: On Tour and had an appropriate amount of time to let it settle in my head (which was about a day and a half), I decided to go to the bookshop and buy my next book!

But, after a killer day at work and a mind like mine, that can't make a decision in the best of times. I ended up buying 3 books that I just couldn't choose between!
So I decided to show you them all and do a small book haul for you guys! Hope you enjoy x

Book #1:

The Last Time We Say Goodbye
Author: Cynthia Hand
Published: 2015


The last time Lex was happy was before.
When she had a family that was whole.
A boyfriend she loved.
Friends who didn't look at her like she might break down at any moment.

Now she's the girl whose brother killed himself.
And it feels like that's all she'll ever be.
As Lex starts to put her life back together, she tries to block out what happened the night Tyler died. But there's a secret she hasn't told anyone - a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything. Lex's brother is gone. But Lex is about to discover that the past doesn't have to define the present.

Why I picked it up:

So honestly, I'm not 100% sure why I picked this book up.
It just sort of drew me in from the cover, which I thought was really cute and it reminded me of quite a few books that I love with a similar style cover.

This is the next book that I will be reading, and I am so excited about it. I don't know why but that blurb just intrigued me so much!
The fact that the story is based around a suicide definitely interested me and by now you all must know I'm pretty into mental health and that sort of thing.
Super excited to explore a new author and see what I think of this book!

Book #2:

Eleanor & Park
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Published: 2012


Eleanor is the new girl in town, and with her chaotic family life, her mismatched clothes and unruly red hair, she couldn't stick out more if she tried.

Park is the boy at the back of the bus. Black t-shirts, headphones, head in a book - he thinks he's made himself invisible. But not to Eleanor... never to Eleanor.

Slowly, steadily, through late night conversations and an ever-growing stack of mix tapes, Eleanor and Park fall for each other. They fall in love the way you do the first time, when you're young, and you feel as if you have nothing and everything to lose.

Why I picked it up:

So this is a book that I have been planning on reading ever since I finished Fangirl, same author for anyone who couldn't figure out why her name sounded familiar.
I loved Fangirl so much and I was really interested in Rainbow Rowell's writing style so I looked up some of her other books and this is definitely the one that caught my eye.

I've read a few online reviews of it and I knew it was one I had to read straight away.
So also really excited for this one.

Ps. It also has on the cover of the book a recommendation/review quote by John Green, which sold me even more as everything that man does is amazing. It made me even more excited to read it.
It said:
"Reminded me not just what it's like to be young and in love with a girl, but also what it's like to be young and in love with a book"

Book #3:

Where she went
Author: Gayle Forman
Published: 2011


It's been three years since Mia walked out of Adam's life.
And three years he's spent wondering why.

When their paths cross again in New York City, Adam and Mia are brought back together for one life-changing night.

Adam finally has the opportunity to ask Mia the questions that have been haunting him. But will a few hours in this magical city be enough to lay their past to rest, for good - or can you really have a second chance at first love?

Why I picked it up: 

So this book is actually a sequel to a book called If I Stay (which was recently turned into a film) and I talked about this book in my 'best books of 2015' post the other day (

So yeah, I'm really interested and excited to see where the story goes from here and to delve back into Mia's life again!

Love you all,
T xxxx



Thursday, 17 December 2015

'Girl Online: On Tour' Review


Penny's bags are packed.

When Noah invites Penny on his European music tour, she can't wait to spend time with her rock-god-tastic boyfriend. But, between Noah's jam-packed schedule, less-than-welcoming bandmates and threatening messages from jealous fans, Penny wonders
whether she's really cut out for life on tour. She can't help but miss her family, her best friend Elliot... and her blog, Girl Online.

Can Penny learn to balance life and love on the road, or will she lose everything in the pursuit of a perfect summer?

My Review:

Okay so I'm not going to write a really massive in depth review for this book, considering that I feel a lot as if I would just be repeating myself in the review of book #1, as Zoe Sugg's writing style and focus has not changed dramatically from book 1.

So as per the first book, I also really loved Girl Online: On Tour.
I actually think I liked this one more than the first book as to me, it was more relatable. Not obviously in the 'I'm on tour with my rod god boyfriend' way, but a lot of the challenges that Penny and Noah face in this book within their relationship are very similar to ones that I have faced with my ex-boyfriend and ones that I think most young teenage relationships do face, whether one of them is super mega famous or not.

I don't want to spoil the book for anyone so I won't go into intense detail.
But pretty much, while book #1 was centred around Penny and Noah meeting and the 'falling in love' stage of their relationship, the only problem they come across being a short lived, on the surface one, the sequel is completely different.

This book goes into pretty intense detail into the early stages of Penny and Noah's relationship, as when the main story picks up they have only been dating for roughly 6 months.
Penny goes on tour with Noah as he opens for a large boyband called 'The Sketch' and they end up not only having to battle with time for each other, but also a large group of people that all seem to be against them being together.

I actually felt that this book was a lot more emotional for me than book #1. I really felt how Penny was feeling throughout it and there were actually points for me where I needed to stop reading because her emotions were affecting me that much.
Honestly, not many books have done that for me and I think it shows amazing writing and readership connection and I just LOVED that!

I also really loved that there was such a strong parallel between Penny's story and Elliot's story and that even though Elliot is absent for a lot of the book (as he doesn't go on tour with Penny and Noah), his constant support is always right there whenever Penny needs him and he does seem in the eyes on the readers that he is just as present as in book #1, with his own drama going on in the background of Pennys.

Magical Mystery Day makes another appearance, and as anyone that's read my review of book #1 knows that I am just obsessed and in love with that idea.
Pennys blog also makes a comeback in this book which I found really special and her blog posts are just as good as ever (my favourite being a playlist of hers towards the end of the book).

Whilst I can't spoil the ending of course, I wasn't a massive fan of the way that it ends as I didn't really feel that all of the storylines were neatly finished. It's a quite ambiguous ending I found and isn't very explicit in some of the things that happen after that point.
I'm not sure if there's a third book coming, which I'd love as I really want to know more about what happens to some of the characters, but yeah, if there isn't not a huge fan of ending it that broadly.

Please if you've read it and you know what I'm talking about, let me know what you thought of the ending, I could quite easily be missing something.. I don't know.

Overall, I honestly think that I enjoyed Girl Online: On Tour more than the first book. 
I give this book 5/5 stars!!, even though I didn't enjoy the ending. 
(I'm pretty picky so that's a big thing) 

Thanks for reading guys, please let me know what you think/thought in the comments!
Love you all lots!
Read fast, die young



Saturday, 12 December 2015

The Best Books of 2015

Hey everyone,

Okay so I decided that seeming that it is coming up to the end of this year.. As terrifying as that is, that I would share with you guys my favourite books that I read this year.

Quick disclaimer: These books did not all come out this year, I am well aware of that, but this is just a list of the books that I happened to read this year that stood out to me.
Also, these books are in no particular order.


Will Grayson, Will Grayson
Author: John Green and David Levithan
Year of Publication: 2010

One night in Chicago, two guys - both named Will Grayson - cross paths.

Tay says: 
This book was just incredible! John Green and David Levithan are by far two of my favourite authors, this book completed my journey of reading every single John Green book that exists and started my journey of reading every single David Levithan one (which is still underway). I fell in love with all of the characters of this book, from the confused and disoriented Will Grayson to the depressed and struggling Will Grayson and everyone in between.
Definitely one of my faves of this year, and of John Green's books in general. I ended up sitting down and reading the entire book (all 310 pages) in about two days, total reading binge that was and I LOVED EVERY PAGE!

Favourite Quote:
(you guys have no idea how hard it was for me to choose just one)
"Some people have lives; some people have music" - Will Grayson #1


Girl, Interrupted 
Author: Susanna Kaysen
Year of Publication: 1993


In 1967, after a session with a psychiatrist she'd never seen before, eighteen year old Susanna Kaysen was put in a taxi and sent to McLean Hospital. She spend most of the next two years in the ward for teenage girls at a psychiatric hospital as renowned for its famous clientele - Sylvia Plat, Robert Lowell, James Taylor, and Ray Charles - as for its progressive methods of treating those who could afford its sanctuary.
Kaysen's memoir encompasses horror and razor-edged perception while providing vivid portraits of her fellow patients and heir keepers. It is a brilliant evocation of a "parallel universe" set within the kaleidoscopically shifting landscape of the late sixties. Girl, Interrupted is a clear-sighted, unflinching document that gives lasting and specific dimension to our definitions of sane and insane, mental illness and recovery.

Tay says: 
Well, I can't say anything any better than that blurb did to be honest, so I won't say too much. But Girl, Interrupted has been one of my favourite movies for years, to anyone that hasn't seen it, Winona Ryder and Angelina Jolie star and it's just brutal and honest and even quite funny at points and I would definitely recommend it! Although, if you are easily triggered, then maybe it's not the best idea as I found it was very triggering for me the first time I watched it.
I had been searching for the book for about a year and my boyfriend ended up tracking it down for me (10000000 boyfriend points to him) and it did not disappoint! Amazing book, amazing movie and would recommend it for anyone interested in mental health.

Favourite Quote:
"Every window on Alcatraz has a view of San Franscisco" - Susanna Kaysen


if i stay 
Author: Gayle Forman
Year of Publication: 2009


Life can change in an instant.
A cold Febuary morning....
A snowy road....
And suddenly all of Mia's choices are gone.
Except one.
As alone as she'll ever be, Mia must make the most difficult choice of all.

Tay says: 
This book I've been tossing up whether to include in here or not. I still haven't really decided, and this is about 3 months after reading it, whether or not I actually like this book.
It's an incredibly interesting idea, that this girl is basically stuck in limbo, all of her family are dead and she needs to decide whether or not she is going to stay or go.
I won't give anything away at all, but I loved the concept behind this book, but I wasn't a massive fan of, I don't even really know what, the writing I guess.
I didn't really feel as connected to the main character as I have in most other good books that I read, so that through me a lot. But why I included it in here is that the events that go on within the pages and the whole idea behind it is one that I just think is incredible and I definitely think you guys should go and check it out.

Also, if you're thinking that you may have heard of it, a movie adaptation has recently come out starring Chloƫ Grace Moretz, so if you guys are a bit skeptical of the book maybe go check out the film. I have seen it and I thought it was a really solid adaptation and I liked it a lot.

Favourite Quote: 
"He says that jazz is punk for old people" - Narrator


The Shock of the Fall 
Author: Nathan Filer
Year of Publication: 2014

'I'll tell you what happened because it will be a good way to introduce my brother. His name's Simon. I think you're going to like him. I really do. But in a couple of pages he'll be dead. And he was never the same after that.'

Tay says:
I don't know about you guys but I know as soon as I read the blurb of this book I was instantly intrigued, and for good reason. I picked this book up at the bookshop across the street from my university one day when I had a few hours to kill before my boyfriend finished class so that we could go see a movie. It was the first book I picked up when I entered the shop, and immediately after reading the blurb I was sold. I started reading it as soon as I bought it and finished about a week later, reading in basically every minute that I possibly could.
This book is definitely one of my favourites, not only that I read this year, but that I've ever read. I can't say enough good things about it.
I won't give a lot away but it's centred around the main character, Matthew (written in first person) as he slowly declines into a dark schizophrenic state after the death of his special needs brother, Simon.
It is haunting and incredibly intense, but it is written so honestly and so rawly (if that's even a word) that I just loved it.
Nathan Filer is an incredible author and to give some background as to why this book is so honest and has such incredible insight into such a horrible disease, the author is a mental health nurse and has said to have based the Matthew's character off a few real life schizophrenics that he has come across.

Favourite Quotes:
Sorry guys, I really couldn't choose one here so I ended up going with 4.

"It's like we each have a wall that separates our dreams from reality, but mine has cracks in it. The dreams can wriggle and squeeze their way through, until it's hard to know the difference". -Matthew

"But my illnes knows everything that I know. This was a difficult thing to get my head around, but the moment I understood it, my illness understood it too". - Matthew

"We are selfish, my illness and I. We think online of ourselves. We shape the world around us into messages, into secret whispers spoken only for us". - Matthew

"Her brother has a disease, an illness eith the shape and sound of a snake. It slithers through the branches of our family tree. It must have broken her heart to know that I was next." - Matthew


The Bell Jar 

Author: Sylvia Plath
Year of Publication: 1967

The Bell Jar chronicles the crack-up of Esther Greenwood: brilliant, beautiful, enormously talented, and successful, but slowly going under - maybe for the last time. Sylvia Plath masterfully draws the reader into Ether's breakdown with such intensity that Esther's insanity becomes completely real and even rational, as probably and accessible an experience as going to the movies. Such deep penetration into the dark and harrowing corners of the psyche is an extraordinary accomplishment and has made The Bell Jar a haunting American classic.

Tay says:
Okay so this one I may have cheated on a little bit. I didn't read The Bell Jar for the first time this year, although I did read it this year so I say it still counts.
This is by far my all time favourite book, to emphasise just how much I love it to you guys, I have a tattoo on my ankle that says 'I am, I am, I am.' which is a recurrent quote throughout this book.
I first read this book in 2012 at the recommendation of my VCE Literature teacher and I could not be more grateful that I took his advice and read this incredible book.
Like for the blurb for Girl, Interrupted, I can't really say anything more than the blurb says except to say that this book changed my life. It changed the way I perceive a lot of things in the world, as well as my own mental illness and I can't even tell you how much it's helped me and shaped the person I am today.
It will probably always be popping up in all of my book favourite posts and I don't apologise for that, because if I can just get one person to read this book and for it to affect them even half as much as it affected me, then my work here is done.

Favourite quote: (obviously)
"I am, I am, I am." - Esther Greenwood

So that's it guys, those are my top books that I read this year.
Please please please let me know in the comments if you've read any of these books, if you have any recommendations for me or if I inspired you to go and read any of these.
I'm always keen to hear from you guys.

Thanks for reading everyone, hope you enjoyed it.

Read fast, die young.